Monday, December 6, 2021

Finalists Announced In The 2021 Players Choice Awards Presented By MLB The Show

Major League Baseball Players Association News announces finalists for The 2021 Players Choice Awards Presented By MLB The Show

Today, Thursday, October 2021, the Major League Players Association announced its annual Players Choice Awards presented by MLB the Show. Headling the awards are Vladimir Guerrero Jr., Bryce Harper, and Shohei Ohtani are the finalists for Player of the Year.

Andrew Miller, Max Scherzer, and Marcus Semien are the nominees for the Marvin Miller Man of the Year award, which goes to the player “whose leadership most inspires others to higher levels of achievement.”

ThePlayers Choice Awards presented by MLB The Show have special significance to players because the winners are selected in balloting among their peers. In addition to the Marvin Miller Man of the Year and Player of the Year award winners, the outstanding players, pitchers, rookies , and comeback players in both the American and National Leagues will be recognized.

Related Article: How are the Nationals looking now by not signing Bryce Harper to a long-term contract?

The 2021 Curt Flood Award recipient will also be announced. The award is given annually to “a former player, living or deceased, who in the image of Flood demonstrated a selfless, longtime devotion to the Players Association and advancement of players’ rights.”

Below are all the finalists:  

Player of the Year 

Vladimir Guerrero Jr., Bryce Harper, Shohei Ohtani 

Outstanding Player Award 

American League: Vladimir Guerrero Jr., Shohei Ohtani, Salvador Perez 

National League: Bryce Harper, Austin Riley, Juan Soto, Fernando Tatis Jr. 

Outstanding Pitcher Award  

American League: Gerrit Cole, Lance Lynn, Robbie Ray 

National League: Corbin Burnes, Max Scherzer, Zack Wheeler 

Outstanding Rookie Award  

American League: Randy Arozarena, Adolis García, Ryan Mountcastle 

National League: Dylan Carlson, Jonathan India, Patrick Wisdom 

Comeback Player Award  

American League: Mitch Haniger, Trey Mancini, Cedric Mullins 

National League: Brandon Crawford, Buster Posey, Joey Votto 

Marvin Miller Man of the Year 

Andrew Miller, Max Scherzer, Marcus Semien 

Since 1992, the Players Choice Awards have recognized the outstanding on- and off-field performances of players. Voting among all players was conducted in mid-September.

Latest News

Buck, Gil, Minnie among 6 elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame

Gil Hodges, Jim Kaat, Minnie Miñoso, and Tony Oliva were elected by the Golden Days Era Committee, to the Baseball Hall of Fame Class of 2022

More Articles Like This